Canadian History – Bicycles in War?

After doing a little research, I discovered, Canadian Troops used bicycles in WW2! I am astounded that in all of my history classes, as well as having every last family member of WW2 generation, involved in the war, I had no idea that bicycles were used. I am now on a mission to head to a couple of museums, to discover more about this incredible piece of history.

canadian troops

Canadian Troops Landing at Juno Beach June 6, 1944 Photographer: Gilbert Milne Library and Archives Canada

Canadian troops1

Troops from Highland Light Infantry and the West Nova Scotia Highlanders June 5, 1944 Photographer: Gilbert Milne

Canadian troops2

 

23 thoughts on “Canadian History – Bicycles in War?

    • I knew nothing about it either, I stumbled on the images in the archives. I have attempted to find out more, but it is a full time job! I don’t think we are taught enough about our own history.

      • Isn’t that the truth!! I am researching the Korean War at the moment and then will go back to about 1937 and into WWII ( a bit more in detail than before), but I’m finding so much I KNOW I never learned in school.

      • That is extensive research! The Korean war is the forgotten part of our history, even our war museum doesn’t have much on it.

  1. I think after a few minutes of walking on the road it becomes obvious you need something to move faster. I remember seeing that bicycles were even part of a particular battle and helped the Canadians to advance rapidly to outflank an enemy in the Normandy Campaigns.

    • It makes so much sense, yet, years of studying Canadian history in University, including extensive coverage of WW2, I read nothing and saw nothing about bicycles! Now you have me curious about the Normandy Campaigns, I must look it up! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  2. Fantastic photos – superb to boost the story. The top photo was all I saw at first and was impressed with it … then a scroll, … wait – here’s another one, just as fantastic, … wait – there’s one more! What a wonderful find.

Leave a Reply

